The Faculty of Philosophy in Poznań was established in 1919, January 30th. Its curricula included mathematics and science. Later in 1919 two departments of mathematics were created. During years 1924-25 the mathematics section was transformed into the Faculty of Mathematics and Science. During the interwar period, academic and educational activities were conducted by mathematicians from various academic centers in Poland, i.a.: Zdzisław Krygowski, Franciszek Włodarski, Kazimierz Abramowicz, Władysław Ślebodziński, Mieczysław Biernacki, Jan Mikusiński, Zygmunt Butlewski – in 1937 they were joined by Władysław Orlicz who came from Lviv. The Faculty staff were interested in: classical algebra, differential geometry, theory of differential forms and Lie groups, analytic functions, functional analysis, theory of real functions, Fourier series and orthogonal series.

Between years 1919-1939 the average number of students of mathematics amounted to one hundred sixty with twenty graduates a year. During years 1939-1945 the academic staff were dispersed by the Second World War. Władysław Orlicz came back to Poznań in 1945 and started to organize the mathematics centre anew. He was nominated the head of the Mathematics Department which was later on transformed into two departments during years 1961-62. Andrzej Alexiewicz, a student of Władysław Orlicz during the Second War period, became the head of the second department. The two Mathematics Departments were parts of the Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry Faculty in Poznań University. During years 1949-50 the Faculty staff included two full professors, one associate professor, eight assistant professors and assistants. During years1968-69 there were two full professors, five associate professors and thirty-one assistant professors and assistants.

In year 1970 the two Mathematics Departments were transformed into one Institute of Mathematics headed by Andrzej Alexiewicz until year 1987. The Institute included eight departments: Department of Algebra and Number Theory, Department of Mathematical Analysis, Department of Geometry and Topology, Department of Mathematical Logic, Department of General Mathematics, Department of Numerical Methods, Department of Probability Theory and Mathematical Statistics, Department of Theory of Real Functions.

After changes in the structure of the University in 1978, the Institute of Mathematics became part of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics. Towards the end of nineteen-eighties and the beginning of nineteen-nineties the Institute was headed by Mirosław Krzyśko (1987-1991) and Julian Musielak (1991-1993).

In year 1993 the aforementioned Faculty of Mathematics and Physics was divided into two parts: Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, and Faculty of Physics. The first dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science was Michał Karoński (1993-1999). His successor for the next two tenures was Zbigniew Palka (1999-2005), followed by Marek Nawrocki (2005-2012). Since 2012 the Faculty’s dean is Jerzy Kaczorowski.

The Faculty conducts scientific research in over twenty faculty units – its departments, Cryptology Center, and scientific labs supported by the faculty.

Currently, the Faculty employs over one hundred faculty members including twenty four full professors, fourteen associate professors, and nine assisting professors. Moreover, there is a group of administrative and library staff of nearly 30 people.

Between 1988-2012 168 people received a PhD degree in mathematics at the Faculty (67 of them did not belong in the staff of the University) and 53 people got postdoctoral degree in mathematics (21 of them did not belong in the staff of the University).

There are four journals edited at the Faculty: Random Structures and Algorithms, Acta Arithmetica, Commentationes Mathematicae oraz Functiones et Approximatio, and a publishing series: Advanced Topics in Mathematics.

In 2013 the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science was granted A category by Research Units Evaluation Committee. The faculty is entitled to confer doctoral and postdoctoral degrees both in mathematics and computer science.


Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun